Monday, May 27, 2024
Home > Sustainable Energy & Business > World GBC board joined by new leaders

World GBC board joined by new leaders

The World Green Building Council has announced its new Board of Directors 2020-2022—an influential group of global leaders that are driving forwards the largest global-regional-local action network to deliver net zero, healthy, equitable and sustainable built environments for everyone, everywhere. 

These individuals have been appointed to the World Green Building Council (WorldGBC) Board of Directors for their leadership and dedication to the sustainable buildings movement, both in their country/region and at the global level.

Cristina Gamboa, CEO of WorldGBC, said: “I am delighted to welcome our green building leaders for a new term on WorldGBC’s Board of Directors. Our Directors are true champions of sustainability and have worked tirelessly to position the best practice in the building and construction industry as central solutions to face the climate change, health and environmental crises. It is this commitment, expertise and strong leadership that has earned them theirplace on our Board of Directors. I look forward to working with them all as we continue our collective journey with our around 70 member Green Building Councils to transform the built environment and deliver on the ambitions of the Paris Agreement and UN Global Goals for Sustainable Development.

The WorldGBC Board of Directors comprises senior leaders that have been put forward by 14 Green Building Councils from around the world, who are based in Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, Indonesia, Mexico, Singapore, Spain, and South Africa. The Board guides the strategy of the WorldGBC and ensures that it successfully delivers on its mission.

The following Directors have been appointed to the WorldGBC Board for the term of 2020-2022:

  1. Tanya Cox, nominated by Green Building Council of Australia (Chair)
    Former Chair of GBCA
  2. Ilari Aho, nominated by Green Building Council Finland (Vice-Chair)
    Vice President of Uponor Group’s New Business Development & CSR
  3. Tan Swee Yiow, nominated by Singapore Green Building Council (Treasurer)
    Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director of Keppel Land
  4. Dario Ibarguengoitia, nominated by Sustentabilidad para Mexico AC (Secretary)
    President, IBALCA
  5. Saeed Al Abbar, nominated by Emirates Green Building Council
    Director of AESG
  6. Lisa Bate, nominated by Canada Green Building Council
    Global Sustainability Lead, Senior Principal at B+H Architects
  7. Felipe Faria, nominated by Green Building Council Brazil
    CEO of GBC Brazil
  8. Johannes Kreissig, nominated by DGNB German Sustainable Building Council
    CEO of DGNB
  9. Jennifer Layke, nominated by Colombia Green Building Council
    Global Director Energy Programme at World Resources Institute
  10. Nkosinathi Manzana, nominated by Green Building Council South Africa
    Executive Head of Group Real Estate Services: Commercial Buildings for the Standard Bank Group
  11. Kevin Mo, nominated by Pakistan Green Building Council
    Managing Director of Paulson Institute Beijing Representative Office
  12. Cherie Nursalim, nominated by Taiwan Green Building Council
    Vice Chair of Giti Group
  13. Bruno Sauer, nominated by Green Building Council España
    CEO of GBC España
  14. Peter Templeton, nominated by US Green Building Council
    President and CEO of Cradle to Cradle Products Innovation Institute

Read original release here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *